Ask and It Shall Be Given!

15 Apr
Lisa at Brava Magazine Photo Shoot

Lisa Peyton-Caire

 
On New Year’s Eve 2010 I attended a local service in my neighborhood with my family. More than ever, I wanted to be in a sacred space to bring in the new year, to reflect, and to plant the seeds for what I desired to be a future of new thinking, new faith, new possibilities, and boundless living. 
 
I prayed on many things that night, and released several others on a single sheet of  paper which I cast into a burning bowl positioned behind the church provided for this symbolic act of purging and renewal. It was a refreshing experience, and a ritual I truly needed at that time.
 
Among releasing the old, I began immediately to meditate on the new, visualizing the life I want for the people I love, for the world, and for me… among them, my desire to write more frequently, to be published several times over, and to overcome the fear of being “out front and center” in the pursuit of my passions and the expression of my gifts. I left church that night believing that my intentions would be realized.
 
And so it should come as no surprise that since January 1, 2011, I have been invited to write articles on more than one occasion. One appeared earlier this year in a small community paper in Madison, WI–Madison Voices–and the other will debut on May 1st in Madison’s premier magazine for women, BRAVA.  Aside from these wonderful opportunities, I am blogging more frequently here on SisterSpeak Online, and am in the midst of redesigning our official website which will relaunch this summer.
 
The power of intention, positive thinking, and more importantly–the measure of our faith in the Creator’s willingness to provide our heart’s desires towards the fulfillment of our purpose—are real. We need only to be open, clear, willing, and prepared to receive the blessings when they come. 
 
The lesson…open up, release, clear the way…then ask—and It Shall Be Given. And when it is given, embrace it and never let it go.
 
In Wellness,
 
Lisa  
One Response to “Ask and It Shall Be Given!”

  1. Marcie Hill June 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    This is great to read, especially at this time for me. Lately, I have been working hard and making things happen. My cash flow doesn’t equate to the work I do. I was speaking to a young lady at the rink and she told me that I don’t have because I don’t ask. That made sense. Then, I started reading Goals! by Brian Tracy and he said to set financial goals and make a financial freedom poster that can be seen everyday with the things I want. I then realized that I didn’t have any financial goals I was working toward.

    After those two things. I have written down my financial goals and made a plan on how to get them. I’ll have a different story within 4 weeks. I have a goal, wrote out my plan and now I just have to work it. I’ll be putting things together this weekend and making moves this week.

    I don’t think it was an accident that I came across this post today.

Leave a Reply

